Designs for the Better World

My Business Card Design

I’m invited to NEC Labs America to give a talk there, so I’ll be in the U.S. from 23rd to 25th September 2010 (first visit to the country!). After I became a freelance designer I didn’t have a business card, so I made one for this chance.

The concept of this is a business card that can stay on a desk as long as it can before getting tucked away into a business card book.
(Sorry, the email address and phone number on the card are for those who have contacted me via this email.)

If it stands, it will probably stay on the desk for some time not buried under other stuff. But if it can be used as a tool, it’ll stick around much longer. So I made it a built-in webcam cover that can be hung on top of a computer monitor (with a camera). I heard a webcam can be hacked, so it can be a precaution.

Can’t wait to hand this to someone🙂

The printer I asked for this is Japan Advertising Inc., where I used to work about 5 years ago, does a pretty good job printing this kind of cards. This card is thicker than usual and there was a cutout, but they did a very good job.

4 responses

  1. Bonbon

    Welcome to the States! I have been a huge fan of your work. I wish I could see you at NEC Labs. But maybe it’s a by-invitation-only event. I wish you enjoy your time here.

    September 20, 2010 at 11:58 pm

    • mac_fun

      Thanks, Bonbon! If I go well at NEC Labs, I’ll think about speaking at PechaKucha sometime.

      September 21, 2010 at 9:35 am

  2. Wonderful! How have you done cuttings on the business card? Has it been done by a typography?

    November 26, 2011 at 8:55 pm

    • You can ask a printer for a cutout with some extra cost.

      November 26, 2011 at 9:07 pm

Leave a Reply

